OUR 2015/2016 Season

The Contest Between Harmony and Invention

October 25, 2015

Featuring KS ensemble soloists Laura Reid, Steve Lubiarz and Diane Lane performing some of the lesser known Vivaldi concerti from the Red Priest’s Op.8 (from which his Four Seasons are drawn), the Sinfonia presents a concert of repertoire that spans the ages.  We are excited to present the work of videogame composer Austin Wintory – his “Apotheosis” from the breakout hit game “Journey”, Estonian minimalist Arvo Part’s “Orient and Occident”, and Franz Schreker’s sublime “Intermezzo.”


Memories of the Old World

February 21, 2016

An eclectic program featuring flautist Jiajia Li and Bulgarian accordionist Konstantin Bozhinov.  The Kensington Sinfonia will present Argentine tango composer Astor Piazzolla’s Five Tango Sensations for accordion and string orchestra, Vivaldi’s La Tempesta di Mare flute concerto, and Mendelssohn’s String Sinfonia in B-flat major. This concert will also present eclectic mix of traditional musical snapshots of distant homelands including a set of Celtic and American fiddle tunes, American composer James Horner's The Ludlows (from the movie Legends of the Fall), and an arrangement of Piazzolla's Libertango (both arranged by the Kensington Sinfonia’s Artistic Director Donovan Seidle).


Tilting against Windmills

May 15, 2016

Kensington Sinfonia will proudly present the winner of our annual student Concerto Competition. This young performer will be featured on a diverse program including American minimalist composer John Adams’ “Shaker Loops”, and Syrian composer and violinist Maias Alyamani’s “Sea Waves.”  We conclude the season with selections from Telemann’s masterful suite “Burlesque de Quixotte”, bringing to life the stories of humor, adventure and romance from the famous “Ingenious, Low-Born Noble, Don Quixote of La Mancha.”

Guest appearances 

Kensington Sinfonia is pleased to announce that members of the ensemble will play Mendelssohn's Concerto No. 1 with Pavel Kolesnikov at Honens Festival Open Air concert on September 12, 2015. The concert will be held at 2 pm at Central Memorial Park (1221 2nd Street SW, Calgary) and admission is free. For more information click here.


2015/2016 Season Tickets now available

September 1, 2015

Kensington Sinfonia is pleased to announce that tickets for its 2015/2016 concert season are now available! Purchase through our website at the Tickets page.

2015/2016 Season announced

August 13, 2015

Kensington Sinfonia is pleased to announce its 2015/2016 concert season. Details are available at the 2015/2016 season page, and brochures will be mailed and emailed to members of our mailing list near the end of August. Be sure you're on our mailing list! Visit the Contact page to sign up.

We look forward to seeing you in the audience this season.


August 10, 2015

Kensington Sinfonia is pleased to announce the launch of our new website. We hope you find it easy to navigate and a complement to our other communications. We welcome your feedback via the Contact page.